Our mission

Our Vision

To further establish our role as a leading society in the energy industry for technical and professional competence while maintaining our social responsibilities stewardship towards our community.

Executive Board

Abdulaziz Nuaim

SPE-KSA Chairman

Chairman's Message

“As chairman of the SPE-KSA section, I am delighted to welcome you to the new term of our beloved society. The mission of SPE has always been to disseminate knowledge and promote the technical and professional competencies of its members. Since the establishment of SPE-KSA in 1959, the section has continued to uphold this mission and expand its role to social responsibilities and stewardship towards our community…”

Read more

Seba Al-Maghlouth
Technical & Professional Programs Chairperson

Abdullah Al-Thuwaini
Public Relations Chairperson

Fatimah Al-Balawi
Young Professionals Chairperson

Maher Rahayyem
Conference Management Chairperson

Dr. Yara Al-Zahid
Diversity & Inclusion Chairperson

Meshal Al-Shalan
Student Outreach Chairperson

Nahid Al-Dossary
Trips Social Activities Chairperson

Reem Alsadoun
SandRose Magazine Editor-in-chief

Mohammed Al-Somali
Information Technology Chairperson

Mohammed Al-Muslem
Event Management Chairperson

Akram Al-Barghouti
Membership Chairperson

Talal Sager


The Organization Was Officially Founded As SPE, A Constituent Society Of AIME. SPE Became a Separately Incorporated Organization In 1985.


Our history begins within the American Institute of Mining Engineers (AIME). AIME was founded in 1871 in Pennsylvania, USA, to advance the production of metals, minerals, and energy resources through the application of engineering. In 1913, a standing committee on oil and gas was created within AIME and proved to be the genesis of SPE. The Oil and Gas Committee of AIME soon evolved into the Petroleum Division of AIME as membership grew and as interest among the members was more clearly delineated among the mining, metallurgical, and petroleum specializations.


The petroleum membership of AIME grew significantly, leading to restructuring decisions that would shape the future of the Society of Petroleum Engineers.


The new society developed products and services to address the technical interests of its growing membership.


Membership grew rapidly, doubling by the end of the decade. The first Long Range Plan was implemented, and helped the Society map out its future for the decade to come.


The industry suffered a downturn and roughly half of all jobs were lost. However, SPE membership remained stable, even experiencing growth, throughout the decade.


SPE became more culturally diverse as the growth rate of international sections increased. SPE also became more technologically far-reaching with the introduction of international Forums and the launch of SPE.org.


SPE reached its highest number of members in its history, partly due to the high growth rate in the number of student members and chapters. Today SPE continues its constant search for new ways to meet member needs in all phases of their careers in all parts of the world